Student Organizations

LALSS Webmaster

Displaying 1 - 19 of 19

https://www.linkedin.com/company/health-law-society-lasl/?originalSubdomain=ca

HLS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Health Law Society (HLS) at the Lincoln Alexander School of Law (LASL) is dedicated to exploring both Canadian and global issues at the intersection of health and law. Topics include health policy, health care law, bioethics, human rights, international solidarity, and global health law, among others. The HLS serves as the principal venue for sharing ideas, building connections, and practicing advocacy skills on issues of health law.

Sally Abudiab

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Lincoln Alexander Francophone Students Association

LAFSA

Associations

The Lincoln Alexander Francophone Students Association is a community for french-speaking and aspiring french-speaking students, who have a desire to maintain their French for use in their legal careers, and advocate for linguistic rights in a bilingual and bijural system.

L’association des étudiants francophones à la faculté de droit Lincoln Alexander est un communauté pour les francophones et francophiles à la faculté, qui ont un désir de maintenir leur connaissance du français pour son utilisation dans leurs carrières juridiques et pour représenter les droits linguistiques.

Isabela Bibulovic

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Mandy Yee Co-President mandy.yee@torontomu.ca

Sikh Law Students' Association

SLSA

Associations

The Sikh Law Students’ Association (SLSA) at Lincoln Alexander School of Law shall be part of a broader
network of Sikh organizations, legal and non-legal, across Canada. SLSA will be committed to improving
access to legal education and professional opportunities among the Sikh diaspora in Canada.
Particularly, SLSA will be focused on promoting equity, diversity and inclusion in the legal field by raising
awareness of legal issues impacting the Sikh community in Canada. Based on the Sikh values of honesty,
compassion, generosity, humility, integrity, and service, SLSA will serve as a place for Sikh and non-Sikh
students to connect to learn about law, gain insights into the legal profession, and network with leading
lawyers in the field. The SLSA will also provide a place for Sikh students to obtain community support,
mentorship & guidance, and a place for non-Sikh students to learn more about and meaningfully engage
with the Sikh community.

Mehtab Samra

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Anish Jammu Director of Event Operations anish.jammu@torontomu.ca
Mehtab Samra Director of Communications & External Affairs mehtab.samra@torontomu.ca
Ishmeet Juneja Director of Finance & Operations ishmeet.juneja@torontomu.ca
Simran Bhola Director of Marketing simran.bhola@torontomu.ca
Arshdeep Buall Executive Coordinator arshdeep.buall@torontomu.ca
Harneet Kular Deputy Director of Event Operations harneet.kular@torontomu.ca
Loveleen Sidhu Deputy Director of Communications & External Affairs loveleen.k.sidhu@torontomu.ca
Sunny Pabla Deputy Director of Finance & Operations sunny.pabla@torontomu.ca
Navjot Mann Deputy Director of Marketing navjot.mann@torontomu.ca
Jash Dhaliwal Impact Coordinator j1dhaliwal@torontomu.ca
Sahibjot Bajwa Impact Coordinator sahibjot.bajwa@torontomu.ca
Amanjot Matharu 1L Representative amanjot.matharu@torontomu.ca
Kanwar Brar Deputy Executive Coordinator & 3L Representative k7brar@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander Business Law Society

LABLS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Lincoln Alexander Business Law Society (LABLS) provides resources and opportunities for students to learn more about the world of business law. We aim to expose students to this field by creating fun events where students can meet practicing lawyers, ask questions, receive valuable advice, and gain the tools needed to build the careers they desire. Our mission is to provide resources that will positively shape a student’s perspective of business law.

Nour Al-Saied

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Asia Pacific Law Students Association

APLSA

Associations

The Asia Pacific Law Students Association (APLSA) is a dynamic and inclusive organization dedicated to nurturing the next generation of legal professionals across the Asia-Pacific region. Founded on the principles of equity, collaboration, and advocacy, APLSA is a thriving community of law students committed to shaping the future of the legal profession.

Miriam Panahi

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Dorothy Dinh Chan Director of Marketing dorothy.dinh@torontomu.ca

Muslim Law Students' Association

MLSA

Associations

The Lincoln Alexander MLSA aims to be a source of encouragement for Muslim law students to become well-integrated and participating members of society without undermining their religious identities. We promote a sense of community among Muslim students and between Muslim and non-Muslim students at Lincoln Alexander Law, while promoting social justice within and beyond our school.

Aminah Khan

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Lila Mansour Co-President lila.mansour@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander Law Students' Society

LALSS

LALSS

James Noronha

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Family Law Students Society

FLSS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Family Law Student's Society is a vibrant and inclusive student organization dedicated to the study, practice, and advancement of family law. Committed to fostering a supportive community and nurturing future family law professionals, our club provides law students with a platform to explore, discuss, and engage with the multifaceted world of family law. Whether you're passionate about advocating for the rights of children, helping individuals navigate divorce, or shaping the future of family law policy, our society is the perfect place for you to thrive.

Michelle Atalla

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Michelle Atalla Matalla@torontomu.ca
Alexandra Saunders alexandra.saunders@torontomu.ca
Adriana Totera adriana.totera@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander International Law Society

LAILS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

Avani Joshi

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Lincoln Alexander Advocacy Society

LAAS

Special Clubs and Affiliates

The Lincoln Alexander Advocacy Society (LAAS) is a student-led organization focused on supplementing LASL’s advocacy program by sharing information and supporting opportunities related to mooting and lawyering skills. We believe that anyone and everyone at LASL should be able to learn about mooting, negotiating, and other lawyering skills in both competitive and non-competitive settings. LAAS works with SEE, LALSS and other LASL clubs and associations to provide access and support to a variety of advocacy-related opportunities and resources for all LASL students.

Esther Chung

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Jenn Gaines Co-Chair jgaines@torontomu.ca

Criminal Law Student Society

CLSS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Criminal Law Student Society welcomes all students interested in learning more about criminal law and practice. We focus on providing course support to 1L students in JUR 106, hosting engaging events to network with criminal practitioners and campus events for student engagement. This year, we also offer alumni relations support for those looking to connect with articling students working in public or private criminal practice.

Navrose Dhillon

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Kayla Terceira Alumni Relations kterceira@torontomu.ca

Womxn's Legal Education Association

WLEA

Associations

WLEA aims to build a community of women-identifying law students with an objective to analyze the various ways in which the law impacts women in society along with the unique challenge’s women encounter in the legal profession. Through professional networking opportunities, peer mentorship, advocacy campaigns, community initiatives, and events attended by notable guest speakers, WLEA will use education as a tool to address important topics, to inspire female leadership, and to effectuate change in the legal community. 

Patricia Arulchelvam

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Patricia Arulchelvam Co-President patricia.arulchelvam@torontomu.ca
Stephanie Ghazarian Co-President stephanie.ghazarian@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander South Asian Law Students’ Association

SALSA

Associations

To be a stronghold for South Asian representation at the Lincoln Alexander School of Law at Ryerson University (Lincoln Law), and to create a safe space for South Asian law students to network and grow.

Isha Patel

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Devraj Adajania Co-President dadajania@torontomu.ca

Labour & Employment Society

LELS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

LELS brings together LASL students with an interest in labour and employment law. We organize events such as firm tours, professional panels, moots and networking events to connect students with leading practitioners. 

We seek to broaden students’ understanding of the labour and employment law landscape and fuel their passion for social justice, litigation and advocacy.

Our social media channels will keep you up to date on current issues, controversial decisions, reforms and innovations within L&E law and post opportunities for students interested in pursuing employment or volunteer positions in this area of law.

Shirin Mollayeva

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Muskan Balagan Co-President muskan.balagan@torontomu.ca
Aisha Abawajy VP aisha.abawajy@torontomu.ca
Andrew White VP Finance andrew1.white@torontomu.ca
Jenna Riina VP Marketing & Communications jriina@torontomu.ca
Braelyn Guppy VP Events braelyn.guppy@torontomu.ca
Nefisa Ansong VP External Affairs nefisa.ansong@torontomu.ca
Meagan MacArthur Research Manager meagan.macarthur@torontomu.ca
Ralisa Saywack EDAI Manager ralisa.saywack@torontomu.ca
Stephanie Naraman Social Media Manager snaraman@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander Sports and Entertainment Law Society

LASELS

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Lincoln Sports & Entertainment Law Society has a dual mission that sets us apart in our field. Firstly, our goal is to unite students who share a strong passion for sports and entertainment law with industry leaders and our vibrant local community. Secondly, we are committed to enhancing the industry as a whole through a combination of thought-provoking events, valuable networking opportunities, and insightful blogging.

What distinguishes our society from others in the sports and entertainment law domain is our strategic location in the heart of downtown Toronto, just steps away from the offices of key industry leaders. This proximity provides us with unparalleled access to firsthand insights, invaluable mentorship, and immediate networking opportunities. Moreover, our society's unwavering dedication to equity is a hallmark. We are determined to exemplify what diverse leadership should entail and aspire to effect meaningful change in the legal community through deliberate engagement, impactful initiatives, and collaborative efforts.

We invite you to join us in shaping the future of sports and entertainment. Together, we will pioneer new frontiers, drive progress in equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI), and create a lasting legacy in the broader Toronto community.

Malik Nembhard

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Zain Ahmed Vice-President Zain1.ahmed@torontomu.ca
Alisha Dossani Director of Administration Alisha.dossani@torontomu.ca
Will Sirman Director of Finance Wsirman@torontomu.ca
Rajita Sharma Director of Events Rajita.sharma@torontomu.ca
Aminah Haghighi EDI Officer aminah.haghighi@torontomu.ca
Sehijpal Kang Marketing Officer Sehijpal.kang@torontomu.ca
Micaela Smith Editor-In-Chief Micaela.smith@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander Property Law Society

Property Law Society

Property Law Society Logo
Caption:
Property Law Society Logo
Description:
Encompassing all areas of property law -- both intellectual property and real property!

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Property Law Society offers a safe and collaborative space for students to develop interests related to all aspects of property law; including but not limited to wills & estates, real property, trademarks, copyright law, patents, social media law, entertainment law, etc! We provide opportunities for professional development, as well as personal development -- so you can carve your own path to property law whilst in Law School, and tailor your experience in our club to the specific kinds of opportunities you're looking for. We've got it all, mentorship, networking, legal writing projects, awesome events, and so much more.

Shany Raitsin

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Black Law Students' Association Lincoln

BLSA Lincoln

Associations

Founded in 2020, the Black Law Students' Association (BLSA) at the Lincoln Alexander School of Law is committed to improving access to legal education and professional opportunities in the Black community. We aim to connect, inform and support Black students at the Lincoln Alexander School of Law through the powers of community, inclusivity, and opportunity.

Our goal is to create a strong and resilient community for current and prospective Black students at the Lincoln Alexander School of Law and those who have demonstrated a vested interest in advancing the goals of the Black community. We intend to do our part through leadership and mentorship to ensure we promulgate access to justice that is equitable and inclusive. Empathy, respect, integrity, and excellence are at the forefront of our vision.

We believe that our guiding principles embody and solidify the Lincoln Alexander School of Law's commitments to equity, diversity, and inclusion. We believe our work will lead to an increase in meaningful representation of Black-identifying people in law schools and law firms, both domestically and internationally. We plan to foster a community that prioritizes and accurately reflects Black experiences within our legal system. We extend our efforts to the wider Black community and hope to move forward in a progressive and innovative manner to uplift and continue to empower our community.

Teni Odetoyinbo

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Alexis Riley VP Communications alexis.riley@torontomu.ca
Rachèl Dunn EDI Officer rachel.dunn@torontomu.ca
Joycelyn Martey Secretary jmartey@torontomu.ca

Lincoln Alexander School of Law Christian Legal Fellowship

LASL CLF

Associations

We are a non-denominational Christian association that exists to support and encourage the Lincoln Alexander Law School community through fellowship, discussions, social gatherings, and community service. Everyone is welcome as we explore, faith, life, and the law together. We are a student chapter of Christian Legal Fellowship, a national association of over 700 lawyers, law students, and jurists, with student chapters in 17 law schools across Canada.

Coco Wang

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers - Lincoln Alexander Chapter

CARL LA

CARL LA Logo
Title:
White background with navy blue logo text that reads “CARL ACAADR Lincoln Alexander Chapter”
Caption:
CARL LA Logo

Clubs (Practice Areas)

The Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers, Lincoln Alexander Chapter (CARL LA) is a student chapter of CARL National. CARL serves as an informed national voice on refugee law and the human rights of refugees and forced migrants, and promotes consistent practices in the treatment of refugees in Canada. CARL LA participates in this work through independently organized events and initiatives, and CARL National projects.

Chantelle McDonald

Email hidden; Javascript is required.

Contact Name Title Contact Email
Maha Khawaja Co-President CARL.LincolnAlexanderChapter@gmail.com